My Top 10 Twitter Tweets of 2010

Hello everyone!

I wish I had posted more this month: I’m afraid between my recent move into a glorious new apartment and killing my last netbook with a careless spill, this hasn’t been a blog-friendly December. Still, I have recently joined the 21st Century in acquiring a smartphone and creating a Twitter account. This foray into microblogging has been even more fun than I was told, so I thought I might mark the last day of 2010 with my Top 10 Tweets, out of a total of 260 so far.

To qualify, a post has to not be a retweet and not directed at any particular individual. I also narrowed down the finalists to cover all four months of my participation. I imagine this will be a much more difficult process in the future, and so you can look forward to a ‘Top 11 of 2011’ and a ‘Top 12 of 2012’ and so on until either this blog or my involvement in Twitter dies out.

Enjoy!

Here’s my very first tweet:

September 26, 2010
I’ve been putting this off, but I’ve lately caught myself thinking, “I could tweet that…” So here I am, internet. I tweet, therefore I am.

 

 

Here’s where I realized I’m not the last person in the world to sign up for Twitter:

September 26, 2010
Bernard Cornwell isn’t on twitter? A sizable fraction of my hopes and dreams for this site are on temporary hold as of this discovery.

 

 

Here’s a good example of my spreading my random facts ‘Geoff-isms’ through a new and exciting medium:

October 15, 2010
Paraguay lost a war in the 1860s that saw 92% of its male population killed. How am I only just hearing about this? http://bit.ly/3G9lnW

 

 

This was before I did my first half-marathon with my mother and her friend:

October 17, 2010
Half-marathon tomorrow. Possibly shouldn’t be drinking six hours before the start? Nah, I’ll be fine. Hubris never hurt anyone…

 

 

This was my take on Toronto’s surprising municipal election results:

October 25, 2010
When John Wayne learned JFK won “Well, I didn’t vote for him, but he’s my president and I hope he does a good job.” My thoughts on Mayor Ford

 

 

Technically this violates my blog rule of not referring to friends by name, but I’ll waive it this time because it was so much fun:

November 15, 2010
Great band name? Ugly Bitter Cupcakes. See, Rebecca? Your baking is actually an inspiration!

 

 

This might’ve been my first tweet retweeted by total strangers:

November 16, 2010
They’re calling for 3 cm of rain tonight in #Toronto. You can find 2 in my running shoes right now. Seriously, I could host my own regatta.

 

 

I was afraid I would fall into the trap of tweeting about the boring trivia of my daily life. On the whole, I’ve done my best to avoid it. This was a fun exception:

November 20, 2010
I thought I was sleeping in on a glorious lazy Saturday. Turns out I was up before 9. My inner teenager is appalled.

 

 

This one still makes me laugh. Maybe you had to see the ad, but seriously, who wants this product after hearing the possible unwanted results?

November 28, 2010
Saw a commercial for a sedative with side effects including hallucinations, suicide attempts, and choking to death on your own tongue. #WTF?

 

 

I believe I got my father eight books for Christmas… This was my Twitter outrage at his pre-visit request.

December 23, 2010
My Dad just asked me to bring 5 books from my shelves home with me at Christmas so he can read them. What does he think he’s getting? Coal?

 

– – –

 

Anyway, it’s not great literature by any stretch of the imagination, but I’ve had fun with Twitter so far, and I look forward to continuing with it in 2011. Happy New Year to all, and to all a good night!

5 Responses to My Top 10 Twitter Tweets of 2010

  1. […] who has also dragged my reluctant self kicking and screaming into an appreciation of hip hop, Twitter, and e-publishing. Apparently, I owe him a great deal of thanks for his well-meant browbeating: […]

  2. […] few years ago I started a tradition as New Year rolled around. I blogged my favourite 10 tweets of 2010 and my favourite 11 tweets of 2011. Now another year has come and gone, and my foray into […]

  3. I used to be able to find good information from your
    content.

  4. […] my favourite tweets of the previous year as my first post of the New Year. Here are the posts for 2010, 2011, and 2012, if you have the […]

  5. What’s up friends, its fantastic paragraph concerning tutoringand completely defined, keep it up
    all the time.

Leave a Reply

