In honour of Lost’s Last episode

Tonight is the end of something very special. Tonight will see the last episode of Lost. This blog has never had too much to do with television, and a series finale is no place to start, but I did want to make my small contribution to the cultural zeitgeist to commemorate the (oh God but I hope it’s satsifying) conclusion of a show that has made such an indelible mark on the world of entertainment.

Lost is one of those very special shows, like The Sopranos, The Wire, or the reimagined Battlestar Galactica, that never talked down to its audience. It was meant to be big. It was meant to be nuanced. It rewarded the rabid fan’s attention, even at the cost of alienating the casual viewer. It had a big cast, each with their own tangled viewpoints and relationships. It had shifted alliances, power politics, mysteries, secrets. Everyone was flawed. People made tough choices. There was drama, action, romance, comedy.

Certainly there are places where it has stumbled, but on the whole it was watchable, entertaining, engaging. What more do you want from television? It had a stellar cast, fantastic writers, high production values (with the exception of its 1990s era CG), and a series of overarching plotlines that meant there was always something to hold your interest, even if you didn’t give two damns about the love triangle de jure, or saw red whenever your question of pressing interest was answered with a still more tantalizing question (a habit they haven’t broken loose of even in the run up to the penultimate finale).

While cruising around the internet this morning I came across two YouTube videos that really spoke to me. Way back in the first season, I thought Lost was going to be a modern-day take on Gilligan’s Island. I was of course pleased and intrigued when mere survival on a deserted island was considered too dull a canvas for the story the creators wished to tell. Still, the Gilligan’s Island assumption never completely left my mind. Apparently, some very creative people felt the same way.

I present to you two alternative opening credits for Lost –made by fans– as they would have appeared if Lost had been produced in the 1960s. All credit goes to their creators, whose YouTube usernames are samskipsam and thekinderscore. I’m embedding their work on my blog not to take a share in their artistic glory, but to give their work a broader audience.

Not bad, eh?

And now that I’ve made mention of Gilligan’s Island, I might as well put up its theme too, for both comparisson and also to honour what is truly one of the great theme songs of the golden age of television. I set out to make sure I’d find a version that included ‘The Professor and Maryanne’, because it always struck me as ridiculous they didn’t get top billing in the first season. Who made the coconut radio? Who bared her midriff to the fullest extent network television would allow? That’s right: The Professor and Maryanne. You have to give credit where it’s due, people.

Anyway, in searching for that far superior theme, I came across this fan-made rendition, and I haven’t been able to stop laughing for a while now. These are the same kind of people who made the two videos above, so to honour their work I’d prefer to link to them, rather than the original:

Well done, boys. Well done.

One Response to In honour of Lost’s Last episode

  1. Sandy Farron says:

    I appreciated lost and definately will miss it

Leave a Reply

